The 2015 Bridge Award Winners Will Be Revealed on March 17

The 2015 Bridge Award Winners Will Be Revealed on March 17

On March 17, 2016 we will be awarding our members with the biggest heart for housing at our Southern Home and Garden Bridge Awards gala. The annual gala is a black tie optional event where the nominees gather for an evening of food and celebration, but most importantly to hear who won the hearts of our judges with their projects from the previous year. Categories include: New Homes, Full Home Remodel, Partial Home Remodel, Green Building, Special Feature, Sales and Marketing, individual awards, and Home Builders Association recognition awards.

The Southern Home and Garden Bridge Awards gala at TD Convention Center will begin at 5:30 p.m. with dinner, followed by the awards ceremony where the 2015 Bridge Awards winners will be announced.

The Bridge Awards would also like to welcome back emcee Kimberly Kelly    

For information, call the HBA of Greenville at (864) 254-0133. For tickets, click here.

Thank you to our members for their hard work in the industry and to our sponsors for helping us celebrate their work:
Presenting Sponsor
Green Building Award Sponsor

Builder of the Year Sponsor

Remodeled Home Awards Sponsor
Remodeler of the Year and Community
Service Award Sponsor

Photography Sponsor

Sales Agent of the Year, Sales
Executive of the Year, and Print
Media Sponsor

New Home Awards


Plant and Garden Sponsor

Home Staging Sponsor
Call for Nominations–Builder, Associate, and Remodeler of the Year

Call for Nominations–Builder, Associate, and Remodeler of the Year

We feature our Bridge Award winners in
our weekly column in the Greenville News.
Recent Builder of the Year Gus Rubio is shown
here featured in the column from 10/02/15.

Your Home Builders Association asks that you recommend a member for our annual BB&T Builder of the Year Award, Richard A. Ashmore, Sr., Associate of the Year Award, and Remodeler of the Year Award. The awards are given to a member who freely gives of his or her time, efforts and participation in order to make the HBA of Greenville a stronger organization for all of its members. These members serve the industry through participation on HBA Committees and with special projects of the Home Builders Association. Each represents the highest level of integrity and honesty in the home building industry. You can find a full list of winners on our website, but below is a list of recent recipients:

Builder of the Year:

  • Gus Rubio, CMB, CGP, APB, Gabriel Builders, 2014
  • Robert Markel, CGR, 2013
  • Wayne Moore, 2012
  • Thomas Dillard, CGP, 2011
  • Brad Thompson, 2010
  • Todd Usher, Master CGP, GMB, 2009
  • Rick Quinn, 2008
  • Ted Smith, 2007
  • Coleman Shouse, 2006
  • Ted Smith/Ron Taylor, 2005
  • Keith Smith, 2004
  • Jim Gregorie, 2003
  • Dan Rawls, 2002
  • Clyde Rector, 2001
  • Bill Fuller, 2000

Richard A. Ashmore, Sr., Associate of the Year:

  • Ron Tate, Esq., Gallivan, White & Boyd, 2014
  • Bob Barreto, 2013
  • Jon Statom, 2012
  • Jason Freeman, 2011
  • Scott Presley, 2010
  • Eric Hedrick, 2009
  • Chuck Childress, 2008
  • Tom Ward, 2007
  • Scott Presley, 2006
  • Lou Hutchings, 2005
  • Richard Powers, 2004
  • Sandy Wiygul-Bell, 2003
  • Robert Murphy, 2002
  • Gary Gilliam, 2001
  • Richard Powers, 2000
Remodeler of the Year:

  • Alan Boone, APR, Advanced Renovations, 2014
  • Mike Freeman, GMB, APB, ACA/Freewood Contractors, 2013
  • Robert Markel, CGR, Hadrian Construction, 2012
  • Clyde Rector, APB, Merritt Homes, 1998
  • Miller Crittendon, 1999

In addition, these awards also may be given to members of the association:

  • Community Service Award
  • Membership Award
  • Spirit of the HBA Award
  • Committee Chairman of the Year Award
  • Rookie of the Year Award 

These awards may be given to a political or community leader:

  • Distinguished Service Award
  • HBASC Champion of Housing Award 

Award winners will be announced at the Third Annual Southern Home and Garden Bridge Awards, presented by GBS Building Supply. The date of this event is still to be determined, but will most likely be in March 2016.  If you know of a member or other person who should receive one of these awards, please send your nomination to Michael Dey at Your nomination will be confidential.