Your Home Builders Association asks that you recommend a member for our annual Builder of the Year Award, Richard A. Ashmore, Sr., Associate of the Year Award, and Remodeler of the Year Award. The awards are given to a member who freely gives of his or her time, efforts and participation in order to make the HBA of Greenville a stronger organization for all of its members. These members serve the industry through participation on HBA Committees and with special projects of the Home Builders Association. Each represents the highest level of integrity and honesty in the home building industry. You can find a full list of winners on our website, but below is a list of recent recipients:

Builder of the Year:

  • Susan Vernon, APB, Dillard-Jones Builders, 2015
  • Gus Rubio, CMB, CGP, APB, Gabriel Builders, 2014
  • Robert Markel, CGR, APB, Hadrian Construction, 2013
  • Wayne Moore, Harold Moore Builder, 2012
  • Thomas Dillard, CGP, Dillard-Jones Builders, 2011
  • Brad Thompson, First Choice Custom Homes, 2010
  • Todd Usher, Master CGP, GMB, Addison Homes, 2009
  • Rick Quinn, Quinn-Satterfield, 2008
  • Ted Smith, Poinsett Homes, 2007
  • Coleman Shouse, Lazarus-Shouse Communities, 2006
  • Ted Smith/Ron Taylor, Poinsett Homes, 2005
  • Keith Smith, Keith Smith Builders, 2004
  • Jim Gregorie, The Gregoria Company, 2003
  • Dan Rawls, Dan Rawls Company, 2002
  • Clyde Rector, Century Remodeling, 2001
  • Bill Fuller, 2000
Richard A. Ashmore, Sr., Associate of the Year:

  • Chuck Childress, BB&T, 2015
  • Ron Tate, Esq., Gallivan, White & Boyd, 2014
  • Bob Barreto, GBS Building Supply, 2013
  • Jon Statom, Palmetto Exterminators, 2012
  • Jason Freeman, J. Freeman and Associates, 2011
  • Scott Presley, Greer State Bank, 2010
  • Eric Hedrick, Cornerstone Contractors, 2009
  • Chuck Childress, BB&T, 2008
  • Tom Ward, Home Team Pest Defense, 2007
  • Scott Presley, Greer State Bank, 2006
  • Lou Hutchings, GBS Lumber, 2005
  • Richard Powers, Piedmont Natural Gas, 2004
  • Sandy Wiygul-Bell, General Shale Brick, 2003
  • Robert Murphy, Advance Central Vacuums, 2002
  • Gary Gilliam, Bank of America, 2001
  • Richard Powers, Piedmont Natural Gas, 2000
Remodeler of the Year:

  • Andrew Woodford, APB, Alan Boone, APR, Advanced Renovations, 2014
  • Mike Freeman, GMB, APB, ACA/Freewood Contractors, 2013
  • Robert Markel, CGR, Hadrian Construction, 2012
  • Clyde Rector, APB, Century Remodeling, 1998
  • Miller Crittendon, 1999
In addition, these awards also may be given to members of the association:

  • Community Service Award
  • Membership Award
  • Spirit of the HBA Award
  • Committee Chairman of the Year Award
  • Rookie of the Year Award 
  • Home Show MVP

These awards may be given to a political or community leader:

  • Distinguished Service Award
  • HBASC Champion of Housing Award 

Award winners will be announced at the Fourth Annual Southern Home and Garden Bridge Awards, presented by GBS Building Supply, on March 30, 2017.  If you know of a member or other person who should receive one of these awards, please send your nomination to Abbey West at Your nomination will be confidential.