Your Home Builders Association asks that you recommend a member for our annual BB&T Builder of the Year Award, Richard A. Ashmore, Sr., Associate of the Year Award, and Remodeler of the Year Award. The awards are given to a member who freely gives of his or her time, efforts and participation in order to make the HBA of Greenville a stronger organization for all of its members. These members serve the industry through participation on HBA Committees and with special projects of the Home Builders Association. Each represents the highest level of integrity and honesty in the home building industry. Below is a list of recent recipients:

Builder of the Year:
Robert Markel, CGR, 2013
Wayne Moore, 2012
Thomas Dillard, CGP, 2011
Brad Thompson, 2010
Todd Usher, Master CGP, GMB, 2009
Rick Quinn, 2008
Ted Smith, 2007
Coleman Shouse, 2006
Ted Smith/Ron Taylor, 2005
Keith Smith, 2004
Jim Gregorie, 2003
Dan Rawls, 2002
Clyde Rector, 2001
Bill Fuller, 2000

Richard A. Ashmore, Sr., Associate of the Year:
Bob Barreto, 2013
Jon Statom, 2012
Jason Freeman, 2011
Scott Presley, 2010
Eric Hedrick, 2009
Chuck Childress, 2008
Tom Ward, 2007
Scott Presley, 2006
Lou Hutchings, 2005
Richard Powers, 2004
Sandy Wiygul-Bell, 2003
Robert Murphy, 2002
Gary Gilliam, 2001
Richard Powers, 2000

Remodeler of the Year:

Robert Markel, CGR, 2012
Clyde Rector, 1998
Miller Crittendon, 1999

In addition, these awards also may be given to members of the association:

  • Community Service Award
  • Membership Award
  • Spirit of the HBA Award
  • Committee Chairman of the Year Award
  • Rookie of the Year Award 

These awards may be given to a political or community leader:

  • Distinguished Service Award
  • HBASC Champion of Housing Award 

Award winners will be announced at the Second Annual Southern Home and Garden Bridge Awards, presented by GBS Building Supply, on March 19.  If you know of a member or other person who should receive one of these awards, please send your nomination to Michael Dey at Your nomination will be confidential.