Election Day is Tuesday, November 8.

Here is who is on the ballot, and who BuildPAC and SC Builders PAC are supporting.  The candidates who are supported by your PACs are noted as “recommended.”  You can read a complete report, with notes about the candidates, but clicking here.  You also can read our vote scores for the members of Greenville County Council by clicking here.

Note that your HBA generally doesn’t screen races where the seat is uncontested. We also typically don’t get involved in races where the incumbent does not seek reelection. However, if a candidate has been recommended by your HBA in past elections, we have denoted them with an asterixis (*).

Governor and Lt. Governor

  • Henry McMaster/Pamela Evette, Republicans, Incumbents, Recommended
  • Joe Cunningham/Tally Casey, Democrats
  • Bruce Reeves/Jessica Ethridge, Libertarians

Secretary of State

  • Mark Hammond, Republican, Incumbent *
  • Rosemounda Peggy Butler, Democrat

State Treasurer

  • Curtis Loftis, Republican, Incumbent
  • Sarah E. Work, Alliance Party

Attorney General

  • Alan Wilson, Republican, Incumbent, Recommended

Comptroller General

  • Richard Eckstrom, Republican, Incumbent

State Superintendent of Education

  • Ellen Weaver, Republican
  • Lisa Ellis, Democrat and Alliance Party
  • Patricia M. Mickel, Green Party

The incumbent superintendent of education, Molly Spearman, did not seek reelection.

Commissioner of Agriculture

  • Hugh Weathers, Republican, incumbent
  • David Edmond, Green Party
  • Chris Nelums, United Citizens Party

United States Senate

  • Tim Scott, Republican, Incumbent, Recommended
  • Krystal Matthews, Democrat

US House District 3

  • Jeff Duncan, Republican, Incumbent, Recommended

US House District 4

  • William Timmons, Republican, Incumbent, Recommended
  • Michael Chandler, Constitution Party

The lone Democrat who filed for this seat dropped out of the race. Another Democrat, Lee Turner, is running a write-in campaign. You can read about her here.

SC House District 3 (Pickens Co.)

  • Jerry Carter, Republican, Incumbent

SC House District 4 (Pickens Co.)

  • Davey Hiott, Republican, Incumbent, Recommended

SC House District 5 (Pickens/Greenville)

  • Neal Collins, Republican, Incumbent, Recommended

SC House District 10 (Anderson/Greenville/Pickens)

  • Thomas Beach, Republican

Beach defeated Rep. West Cox in the primary. Your HBA recommended Cox.

SC House District 16 (Greenville/Laurens)

  • Mark Willis, Republican, Incumbent *

SC House District 17 (Greenville)

  • Mike Burns, Republican, Incumbent *

SC House District 18 (Greenville)

  • Alan Morgan, Republican, Incumbent
  • Michael Reitz, Democrat

SC House District 19 (Greenville)

  • Patrick Haddon, Republican, Incumbent *

SC House District 20 (Greenville)

  • Adam Morgan, Republican, Incumbent

SC House District 21 (Greenville)

  • Bobby Cox, Republican, Incumbent *

SC House District 22 (Greenville)

  • Jason Elliott, Republican, Incumbent, Recommended

SC House District 23 (Greenville)

  • Chandra Dillard, Democrat, Incumbent *

SC House District 24 (Greenville)

  • Bruce Bannister, Republican, Incumbent *

SC House District 25 (Greenville)

  • Wendell Jones, Democrat
  • Yvonne Julian, Republican
  • Jack Logan, Libertarian Party
  • Tony Boyce, Independence Party

Rep. Leola Robinson-Simpson did not seek reelection.

SC House District 27 (Greenville)

  • David Vaughan, Republican

Rep. Garry Smith did not seek reelection.

SC House District 28 (Greenville)

  • Ashley Trantham, Republican, Incumbent, Recommended
  • Fritz Weibel, Democrat

SC House District 35 (Greenville/Spartanburg)

  • Bill Chumley, Republican, Incumbent *

SC House District 36 (Spartanburg/Greenville)

  • Bob Harris, Republican

Harris defeated Rep. Rita Allison on the primary. Your HBA recommended Allison.

SC House District 42 (Laurens/Union)

  • Doug Gilliam, Republican, Incumbent

Greenville County Council District 17 (Northern Greenville County)

  • Joey Russo, Republican, Recommended
  • Sheryl Guarniero, Democrat

Russo beat incumbent Joe Dill in the primary. Your HBA recommended Russo.

Greenville County Council District 19 (Parker/Gantt area)

  • Benton Blount, Republican

Blount defeated incumbent Willis Meadows in a runoff in June. Your HBA recommended Meadows.

Greenville County Council District 23 (City and West Greenville)

  • Alan Mitchell, Democrat
  • Ben Carper, Republican

Councilwoman Xanthene Norris did not seek reelection.

Greenville County Council District 27 (Mauldin)

  • Dan Tripp, Republican, Incumbent *

Greenville County Council District 28 (Southern Greenville County)

  • Rick Bradley, Republican

Bradley defeated incumbent Lynn Ballard in the primary.

Greenville County Auditor

  • Scott Case, Republican, Incumbent *

13th Circuit Solicitor (Greenville/Pickens)

  • Walt Wilkins, Republican, Incumbent

Greenville County Probate Judge

  • Debora Falkner, Democrat, Incumbent
  • Chad Groover, Republican

Greenville County Treasurer

  • Al Hodges, Republican

Incumbent Jill Kintigh did not seek reelection.

Laurens County Council District 1 (Fountain Inn)

  • Kemp Younts, Republican, Incumbent

Laurens County Council District 4 (West Central Laurens County)

  • Brown Patterson, Republican, Incumbent

Laurens County Council District 5 (Northeast Laurens County)

  • Jeffrey Carroll, Republican, Incumbent

Laurens County Auditor

  • Jim Coleman, Republican, Incumbent

Laurens County Probate Judge

  • Kay Fridy, Republican, Incumbent

Laurens County Treasurer

  • Cynthia Burke, Republican, Incumbent

Pickens County Council District 1 (Clemson)

  • Claiborne Linvill, Democrat
  • Brad White, Republican

Incumbent Robert Feemster did not seek reelection. There has been recent controversy surrounding Brad White that you may want to read about before you vote.  Click here to read about it.

Pickens County Council District 2 (Liberty)

  • Chris Lollis, Republican

Incumbent Trey Whitehurst did not see reelection.

Pickens County Probate Judge

  • David Allison, Republican, Incumbent

Anderson County Council District 2

  • Glenn Davis, Democrat, Incumbent
  • David Standard, Republican

All seven members of Anderson County Council run for two-year terms. Two had primary opposition but are unopposed in the General Election. Four were unopposed this year.

Anderson County Probate Judge

  • JT Foster, Republican

Incumbent Martha Newton did not seek reelection.

Anderson County Auditor

  • John Benca, Republican

Auditor Jacky Hunter passed away. Assistant/Acting Auditor was defeated in the primary by Benca.

About Our Process

Your Home Builders Association has formed two Political Action Committees that raise money from our members, screen candidates, and make contributions to the campaigns of the candidates. The Political Education Committee members screen the candidates and recommend scores and campaign contributions to the Board of Directors and the PAC Trustees. Their recommendations are based on the candidates’ positions on housing-related issues (party affiliation is not a consideration).

About the Political Education Committee

The Political Education Committee membership is limited to members who have made a $250 or greater contribution to the association’s PACs.

About our PACs

South Carolina Builders PAC is a partnership between the Home Builders Association of South Carolina, Home Builders Association of Greenville, and other local HBAs in South Carolina. Its scope is local, statewide, and legislative races.

BuildPAC is a PAC organized under Federal Election Laws and managed by the National Association of Home Builders. It’s scope is Congressional races. BuildPAC does not take a position on the Presidency.